WOW. This book is perfection. A Perfect Plan, is an historical romantic suspense (love & murder in 1850s England). Sometimes historical novels are very stuffy and either really really proper or very very naughty. This book flows wonderfully, the grammar is proper for the time the people behave proper for the time (also perfectly improper for the time) but, its also modern enough that it flows and is easy to handle, its just the right amount of naughty. This book is addicting and  brilliant. I need the second book immediately. If I beg and plead I can only hope that Alyssa Drake will allow me to be a part of her ARC team, because I don’t know how much longer I can wait. I love the characters, I love the plot, I love the writing, I LOVE this book! Every single part of this book is fantastically done. The murder mystery is intriguing, although I guessed the culprit I was never sure if my guess was correct or not until the very end. It’s hard to surprise me but A Perfect Plan managed to do just that. My only complaint is that it ended and I need to wait to have more. I am amazed that this is the first novel by Alyssa Drake, she writes like shes been publishing books her entire life. This book is a far cry from the books I’ve been reading lately but I’ve always loved historical romances, and suspenseful or just mystery novels, this book was all of those combined in such a way that I wasn’t sure could work, but boy did it. I honestly can not praise this book enough. I’ve been reading some wonderful books lately, but this surpasses all of them. It was nice to break away from the normal romance novels, and read such a unique and wonderful novel. The title fits this book perfectly because it sure is perfect. This book is available now and you need to go read it immediately!

amazon link

Goodreads link

Official Synopsis:

 

Samantha Hastings lived a quiet, peaceful life on her family’s country estate. With no man to order her around and no stifling society rules to follow, she considered herself blessed. However, when her brother’s ship sinks during a short trip to France, Samantha receives a request from her sister-in-law to return to town and manage the late Earl’s finances. Suddenly thrust into society, Samantha faces an unfamiliar world and a pair of very familiar green eyes.

Lord Benjamin Westwood never intended on following through with his rash promise to his best friend. Now, with Edward’s death, Benjamin becomes the unwilling guardian to Edward’s bratty little sister, who has grown up considerably since the last time they met. His intention to marry her off to the first available suitor is thwarted when he finds himself falling for Samantha’s unique demeanor. He lights upon the perfect plan; a marriage of convenience, giving him the opportunity to romance Samantha without distraction.

However, when they discover Edward’s disappearance was due to foul play, Benjamin’s perfect plan begins to quickly unravel. Now, Samantha is in more danger than either of them realized and Benjamin is running out of time.

 

Happy reading until next time!

Megaden.

